Charging Buffalo Award

Margaret Sullivan

Margaret Sullivan

Media Columnist for the Washington Post

Margaret Sullivan is the Washington Post’s media columnist, writing several times a week in the Style section about press rights, free speech and the intersection of journalism and politics. Previously, she was the longest-serving public editor of the New York Times, and before that, for 13 years, the executive editor of The Buffalo News, her hometown paper and the largest news organization in upstate New York. She was the first woman in that role, and, earlier, the first woman to be a member of newsroom management at The News, where she began as a summer intern in 1980 and was a reporter, columnist, city desk editor, features editor and managing editor.

She was twice elected as a director of the American Society of News Editors, leading its First Amendment committee. A former member of the Pulitzer Prize board, she was also a four-time Pulitzer juror, serving once as chair of the commentary jury.

Sullivan has taught in the graduate schools of journalism at Columbia University and City University of New York. She lives in Washington, D.C., and is the mother of two children in their 20s, both working in public defenders offices. Born and raised in Lackawanna, N.Y., Sullivan is a graduate of Georgetown University and has a masters degree from Northwestern University’s Medill School.

The New England First Amendment Coalition recognized Sullivan with its 2017 Stephen Hamblett First Amendment Award, praising her work: “At a time of historic distrust in the media’s role in a free society, she has consistently fought for the profession to hold itself to high standards and to hew to crystal clear ethics for the benefit of media consumers.”

Charging Buffalo Award History

Since 1993, Buffalo Nite honors a Buffalonian or a friend of Buffalo with the “Charging Buffalo” Award in recognition of his/her career achievement and relationship between Western New York and the Washington, D.C. Metro area.

Do you have a Charging Buffalo Award candidate?

Buffalo Nite honors a Buffalonian or friend of Buffalo with the “Charging Buffalo” Award (CBA) to recognize career achievement. The Buffalo Nite committee is always looking for a person who reflects the values and work ethic of Buffalonians and has played a role connecting Buffalo and Washington, DC in some manner. To submit a candidate, please include a brief biography

Questions to address for proposed candidates:

  • Was the person born in Buffalo or Western New York?
  • How long did they live there?
  • What did they do there?
  • Do they reside in the Washington, D.C. area?  How long?
  • What do they do in the Metro Washington, D.C. area?
  • What outstanding actions or accomplishment has this person achieved?
  • Is the person able to be present at Buffalo Nite this September?
  • Has the person been a friend or supporter of Buffalo Nite?  In what way?

Please submit your candidate information to:

Past recipients include:

2016 - Kim Keenan, President and CEO of Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council (MMTC)
2015 - Megan Smith, US Chief Technology Officer
2014 - H. David Jay, Architect
2013 - The Honorable Tom Reynolds, former Congressman
2012 - Jim Militello, Radio Sports Reporter for Associated Press Broadcast
2011 - Tracy O’Grady, Owner and Executive Chef, Willow
2010 - Erik Brady, Sportswriter for USA Today
2009 - Donald E. Will, President and CEO of Will Poultry Company
2008 - Charles W. Roesch, Owner of multifaceted restaurant and catering business
2007 - The Honorable Bill Paxon, Buffalo area Congressman and lobbyist
2006 - Michael A. Fitzpatrick, General Secretary, International Association of Iron Workers
2005 - Tom Toles, Pulitzer Prize winning editorial cartoonist for the Washington Post
2004 - The Honorable Jack Quinn, Buffalo area Congressman
2003 - The Honorable(s) Jack Kemp, John LaFalce, and Hank Nowak, Buffalo area Congressman and Buffalo Nite founders
2002 - Gwen Ifill, Managing Editor and Moderator, PBS Washington Week
2001 - Scheduled for September 12, cancelled
2000 - The Honorable Daniel Patrick Moynihan, U.S. Senator, State of New York
1999 - Marv Levy, Head Coach of the Buffalo Bills
1998 - James T. Molloy, Doorkeeper, U.S. House of Representatives
1997 - The Honorable Thomas A. Constantine, Administrator, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
1996 - David O. “Doc” Cooke, Pentagon administrator
1995 - Wolf Blitzer, CNN television correspondent
1994 - Mark Russell, Political satirist
1993 - Tim Russert, Moderator of Meet the Press, NBC Washington Bureau Chief